Culinarium 2018: Empowering She-Cago’s Food Scene

The Chicago chapter of the international philanthropic organization of women leaders in the food, beverage and hospitality industries is hosting an unforgettable evening to celebrate the women who have shaped – and are shaping – what and how Chicago eats and drinks. The event, held Monday, April 30, 2018 at Venue West, raised more than $35,000 through ticket sales, a silent and live auction and the popular LDE Chicago Dessert Dash to fund the chapter’s important scholarship program for up-and-coming women chefs.

Dames and guests kicked off the evening by sipping on special cocktails while perusing the silent auction and feasting on hors d’oeuvres inspired by legendary women of Chicago’s food world including Carol Haddix, Carole Segal, Sofia Solomon, Priscilla Cretier, Nancy Harris, Nancy Brussat and Toria Emas. Some guests even bid on the “saber with a somm” experience to work with an expert to swiftly slice the neck off a bottle of Champagne, which they then shared with table-mates.

A seated three-course dinner follows, featuring dishes from many Dames and great Chicago women chefs. See the full list below. Wines from Chicago’s newest wine company, Meta Wine, rounded out the meal, while a live auctioneer auctioned off special experiences and other prizes for bidding. Afterward, guests bid with table mates on luscious desserts from the city’s most talented, women pastry chefs. The highest bidders in each round literally dashed to pick out the most magnificent dessert they could! The band “Generations” brought everyone to their feet with hits from all the best eras.

The list of chefs and pastry chefs participating in the event included:

Dobra Bielinski, Delightful Pastries http://www.delightfulpastries.com/

Nancy Brussat, Convito Café and Market  www.convitocafeandmarket.com

Toni Marie Cox, Toni Patiserie and Café http://www.tonipatisserie.com/

Priscilla Cretier, brought fine French dining to Chicago with Maxim’s and Le Vichysoiss

Toria Emas, Wine Purveyor

Amanda Downing, Chef de Cuisine, Bistronomic http://www.bistronomic.net/

Sophie Evanoff, Vanille Patisserie https://www.vanillepatisserie.com/

Mindy Gohr, Bittersweet Bakery www.bittersweetpastry.com

Kimberly Hack, Cocoa + Co. https://cocoaandco.com/

Carol Mighton Haddix, former food editor, Chicago Tribune

Nancy Harris, Catering Company Owner

Stephanie Hart, Brown Sugar Bakery http://www.brownsugarbakerychicago.com/

Gina Hartwig, Bakin’ & Eggs http://www.bakinandeggschicago.com/

Laura Herman, Conway Farms Golf Club

Sandra Holl, Floriole http://www.floriole.com/

Jove Hubbard and Lorena Idrovo, Cindy’s http://www.cindysrooftop.com/

Suzanne Imaz, Frontera Grill http://www.rickbayless.com/restaurants/frontera-grill/

Heather Johnston, Veruca Chocolates www.verucachocolates.com

Chris Kadow-Dougherty, Whimsical Candy https://whimsicalcandy.com/

Stephanie Lock, Rustic Tart http://www.rustictart.net/

Mary Reidy McMahon, Pastry Chef

Diana Moles, Eli’s Cheesecake http://www.elicheesecake.com/

Amy Morton, Found Kitchen & Social House https://foundkitchen.com

Maggie O’Brien, Velvet Desserts http://www.velvetdessert.com/

Ana Ramos, Three Tarts Bakery & Café http://www.threetartsbakery.com/

Sarah Rinkavage, Chef de Cuisine, Marisol www.marisolchicago.com

Toni Roberts, The Wit Hotel https://thewithotel.com/

Carole Segal, Co-Founder, Crate & Barrel www.crateandbarrel.comand Foodstuffs http://www.foodstuffs.com/

Sofia Solomon, Tekla Cheese http://www.teklainc.com/

Laura Soncrant, The Growling Rabbit http://www.thegrowlingrabbit.com/

Christopher Teixeira, The Fifty/50 Restaurant Group https://www.thefifty50group.com/

Beth Welch and Kate Noble, Beth’s Little Bake Shop http://bethslittlebakeshop.com/

Jolene Worthington, Eli’s Cheesecake http://www.elicheesecake.com/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: